## First Meeting of the Greater Hobart Committee

## Communiqué – 28 May 2020

The Greater Hobart Committee has been convened, with its first meeting held on 28 May 2020 via video teleconference.

The Committee was established by the *Greater Hobart Act 2019* as part of an enduring framework to facilitate engagement between the four central Hobart councils (Clarence, Glenorchy, Hobart and Kingborough) and the Tasmanian Government. This provides a framework to support collaboration and to better coordinate the efficient use of infrastructure and strategic land use planning in central Hobart.

The inaugural meeting of the Committee follows the first meeting of the Greater Hobart Advisory Group, which comprises of senior officials and was held in early April 2020.

The Committee meeting provided an opportunity to agree on the schedule of work needed to develop a shared Vision for Hobart, which will inform the development of a MetroPlan to provide an urban lens on strategic land use planning, and an agreed Work Program to identify the actions that will be collectively taken over the coming years.

As part of these early discussions, the importance of considering and engaging with other councils in the southern region was noted and it was agreed that:

- officer level (non-elected) points of contacts be established to support information sharing with the Southern Tasmanian Council Authority; and
- engagement with adjunct councils will be listed as a standing agenda item when the Committee and Advisory Group meet.

As well as commencing the important work to deliver on the objectives set out in the Greater Hobart Act, the meeting provided an opportunity to discuss the various impacts and responses being taken by the Tasmanian Government and each of the councils to mitigate the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.

## Membership

The Hon Michael Ferguson MP, Minister for State Growth and Minister for Infrastructure and Transport

The Hon Roger Jaensch MP, Minister for Housing

Lara Kirkpatrick, Senior Advisor, Office of the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (delegate for the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP, Minister for Disability Services and Community Development)

Lord Mayor Councillor Anna Reynolds, City of Hobart

Mayor Alderman Doug Chipman, City of Clarence

Mayor Alderman Kristie Johnston, City of Glenorchy

Mayor Councillor Dean Winter, Kingborough Council