Meeting of the Greater Hobart Committee

Communiqué – 24 August 2022

The Greater Hobart Committee held its seventh meeting on Wednesday, 24 August 2022 to finalise the development of a 30-Year Greater Hobart Plan, endorse a draft Implementation Plan to be used for targeted engagement with key stakeholders and peak bodies in the first instance, and advance ongoing collaboration in priority areas for Greater Hobart.

30-Year Greater Hobart Plan and Implementation Plan

The Committee agreed to adopt the 30-Year Greater Hobart Plan, which will provide a whole-of-city spatial guide to assist the development of transport, housing and employment centres over the long term. The Plan is aligned to help deliver the Vision for Greater Hobart that was released in August 2021.

At the meeting, the Committee considered feedback provided following a 7-week period of community consultation. The Committee noted the level of feedback provided by the community and has incorporated those comments into the final Greater Hobart Plan which is now even more reflective of the community's vision for Greater Hobart now and into the future.

The Committee also endorsed a *draft Implementation Plan* for targeted consultation with key stakeholders and peak bodies over coming months to ensure the Greater Hobart Plan delivers on its intent.

Background

The Committee was established by the *Greater Hobart Act 2019* as part of an enduring framework to facilitate engagement between the four central Hobart councils (Clarence, Glenorchy, Hobart and Kingborough) and the Tasmanian Government. This provides a framework to support collaboration and to better coordinate the efficient use of infrastructure and strategic land use planning in central Hobart.

Membership

The Hon Guy Barnett MP, Minister for State Development, Construction and Housing (Chair)

The Hon Michael Ferguson MP, Minister for Infrastructure and Transport

Melissa Gray, Deputy Secretary Community Partnerships and Priorities, Dept of Premier and Cabinet (delegate for The Hon Nic Street MP, Minister for Community Services and Development)

Lord Mayor Councillor Anna Reynolds, City of Hobart

Mayor Alderman Doug Chipman, City of Clarence

Mayor Alderman Bec Thomas, City of Glenorchy

Mayor Councillor Paula Wriedt, Kingborough Council