Meeting of the Greater Hobart Committee

Communiqué – 27 April 2022

The Greater Hobart Committee met on Wednesday, 27 April 2022 to progress the development of a 30 Year Greater Hobart Plan, and advance ongoing collaboration in priority areas for Greater Hobart.

New Chair

In line with recent changes in portfolio responsibilities within the Tasmanian Government, the Hon Guy Barnett MP was welcomed by all members to his first Committee meeting as Chair in his capacity as the Minister for State Development, Construction and Housing. The Chair also acknowledged the contribution of the outgoing Chair, the Hon Michael Ferguson MP, who would retain membership on the Committee in his capacity as Minister for Infrastructure and Transport.

30 Year Greater Hobart Plan

The Committee continued to progress work to deliver a Greater Hobart Plan, which will provide a whole-of-city spatial guide to assist the development of transport, housing and employment centres over the long term. The Plan is aligned to the Vision for Greater Hobart that was released in August 2021.

At the meeting, the Committee considered drafts of a *Greater Hobart Plan*, and a supporting *Strategy for Growth and Change*, which will be released as part of a public consultation process in coming weeks.

The Committee reaffirmed its wish for strong engagement with all interested parties during the public consultation phase – key stakeholders, organisations, businesses, and community members – and looks forward to receiving feedback and comment about the future of Greater Hobart.

Background

The Committee was established by the *Greater Hobart Act 2019* as part of an enduring framework to facilitate engagement between the four central Hobart councils (Clarence, Glenorchy, Hobart and Kingborough) and the Tasmanian Government. This provides a framework to support collaboration and to better coordinate the efficient use of infrastructure and strategic land use planning in central Hobart.

Membership

The Hon Guy Barnett, Minister for State Development, Construction and Housing (Chair) The Hon Michael Ferguson MP, Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Lara Kirkpatrick, Senior Adviser, the Office of The Hon Nic Street MP (delegate for The Hon Nic Street MP, Minister for Community Services and Development) Minister for Community Services and Development Acting Lord Mayor Councillor Helen Burnet, City of Hobart

Mayor Alderman Doug Chipman, City of Clarence

Mayor Alderman Bec Thomas, City of Glenorchy

Mayor Councillor Paula Wriedt, Kingborough Council