Meeting of the Greater Hobart Committee

Communiqué – 16 March 2022

The Greater Hobart Committee met on Wednesday, 16 March 2022 to progress the development of a 2050 Metropolitan Plan for Greater Hobart, and advance ongoing collaboration in priority areas for Greater Hobart.

New Committee member

On behalf of all members, the Chair welcomed the Hon Nic Street MP to his first Committee meeting in his capacity as the Minister for Community Services and Development. The Chair also acknowledged the contribution to the committee of the Deputy Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP, during his time in the Community Services and Development portfolio.

A 2050 Metropolitan Plan for Greater Hobart (MetroPlan)

The Committee continued to progress work to deliver a Metropolitan Plan for Greater Hobart, which will provide a whole-of-city spatial guide to assist the development of transport, housing and employment centres over the long term. The Plan is aligned to the Vision for Greater Hobart that was released in August 2021.

At the meeting, the Committee considered drafts of a 2050 Plan for Greater Hobart, and a supporting *Strategy for Growth and Change*, which will be released as part of a public consultation process in coming weeks. The Committee requested further consideration of wording and language within the documents to ensure clear messaging through the Plan, with an amended draft to be provided to the Advisory Group and Committee for approval in turn prior to public release.

The Committee reaffirmed its wish for strong engagement with all interested parties during the public consultation phase – key stakeholders, organisations, businesses, and community members – and looks forward to receiving feedback and comment about the future of Greater Hobart.

Background

The Committee was established by the *Greater Hobart Act 2019* as part of an enduring framework to facilitate engagement between the four central Hobart councils (Clarence, Glenorchy, Hobart and Kingborough) and the Tasmanian Government. This provides a framework to support collaboration and to better coordinate the efficient use of infrastructure and strategic land use planning in central Hobart.

Membership

The Hon Michael Ferguson MP, Minister for State Development, Construction and Housing; Minister for Infrastructure and Transport

The Hon Nic Street MP, Minister for Community Services and Development

Lord Mayor Councillor Anna Reynolds, City of Hobart

Mayor Alderman Doug Chipman, City of Clarence

Mayor Alderman Bec Thomas, City of Glenorchy

Mayor Councillor Paula Wriedt, Kingborough Council